How to Stop your Inactive Google+ Page from being Taken Down
As internet media giants like Facebook and Google try to clean clutter from their platforms, they’ve become stricter when it comes to removing inactive pages. We recently wrote about the dangers of having your Facebook Page deleted for inactivity. Now, it’s Google+’s turn.
Who Cares if Inactive Google+ Pages are being Removed?
That’s probably the first question you asked. It’s no secret that Google+ isn’t the most potent social media marketing platform anymore.
The reason it’s still important is for search engine optimization (SEO) purposes.
How Google+ Affects SEO
Google+ is an extensive social network with a ton of different links under its domain. In other words, when a link to your website is posted on Google+, you earn some ranking brownie points for being connected to a high authority domain. The more links to your site, the higher it ranks on search engines.
Also, if someone is logged into their Gmail account and searches for keywords related to your business, your Google+ has a relatively higher chance of popping up in the results. So while you may not get a ton of interaction on your Google+ posts, your page serves as another brand touch point for your audience.
How Long must Page be Inactive for?
We’re not entirely sure. What we do know is that after a few months, you’ll receive an email that states your Google+ page will be removed in 30 days since it hasn’t been used in a while.
To prevent it from being deleted, all you have to do is post something or comment on another user’s post. It’s really easy.
Why are Inactive Google+ Pages being Removed?
A few years back, a Google+ page would automatically be created for you when you registered for a Gmail account. Most people really didn’t care about Google+, and thus, never used their profiles. The result was literally millions of inactive profiles just taking up space. Now, Google is just decluttering.
Note that your inactive Google+ page being deleted won’t affect your Google My Business listing. However, since it’s so easy to save your Google+, it’s not worth letting it be deactivated.